Corey Kluber, Max Scherzer Win 2017 Cy Young Awards (Giuseppe)

The biggest award given out in the MLB each year for pitchers has crowned its newest recipients. The award named after the man that stands alone in baseball lore with 511 career wins, has it’s two newest winners. Those winners are Corey Kluber of the Cleveland Indians and Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals.

Let’s start off on the American League side of things with Corey Kluber taking home the AL Cy Young hardware. Kluber led all of MLB with 18 wins, along with 2.25 ERA, a 0.869 WHIP, and a 7.36:1 strikeout to walk ratio. He also struck out an impressive 265 batters and only walked 36 batters in 203.2 innings pitched. With this CY Young Award, Corey Kluber stands alone in baseball as the only Indians pitcher to ever win multiple Cy Young Awards (he previously won in 2014).

The three finalists vying for the Cy Young in the American League were Corey Kluber, Chris Sale, and Luis Severino. Kluber blew his competition out of the water with 28 first place votes and two-second place votes. Chris Sale, who at the All-Star Break was considered a mortal lock for this award, came in second and Luis Severino came in third.

Runner-up Chris Sale was no slouch himself becoming the first pitcher since Pedro Martinez in 1999 with 300+ strikeouts in a season. Despite this, Sale lost due to a poor second half in which he had a 3.12 ERA and a 1.07 WHIP. He still finished with a sub 3 ERA but was unable to take home Cy Young hardware in 2017.

Here were the exact results of the voting.

2017 AL Cy Young

Team, Player 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
Corey Kluber, Indians 28 2 204
Chris Sale, Red Sox 2 28 126
Luis Severino, Yankees 20 6 1 73
Carlos Carrasco, Indians 1 16 8 43
Justin Verlander, Tigers/Astros 3 6 11 32
Craig Kimbrel, Red Sox 6 2 5 27
Ervin Santana, Twins 3 3
Marcus Stroman, Blue Jays 2 2

On the other side of the MLB, Nationals ace Max Scherzer took home his second consecutive, and third overall NL Cy Young Award after posting a 2.51 ERA, going 16-6 and compiling a 7.3 WAR. Scherzer has now become the first pitcher since Clayton Kershaw in 2012-2013 to win back to back Cy Young Awards.

Speaking of Kershaw, the three finalists in the NL were Max Scherzer, Clayton Kershaw, and Steven Strasburg. Kershaw was the runner-up this time and Strasburg came in third after Scherzer compiled 27 first place votes and 3-second place votes.  The other three first-place votes were awarded to Clayton Kershaw. Long story short, it wasn’t even close.

Despite runner-up Clayton Kershaw compiling 18 wins (2 more than Scherzer) Scherzer still won by a landslide. Also, despite being just as good as Scherzer on a rate basis, Kershaw and Strasburg both pitched roughly 25 fewer innings than Scherzer.

If you would like to see the exact vote tally, you can see that below.

2017 NL Cy Young

Player, Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
Max Scherzer, Nationals 27 3 201
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers 3 25 1 1 126
Stephen Strasburg, Nationals 1 23 3 2 81
Zack Greinke, Diamondbacks 1 3 15 9 52
Kenley Jansen, Dodgers 2 5 6 22
Gio Gonzalez, Nationals 1 5 5 18
Robbie Ray, Diamondbacks 1 4 6
Jacob deGrom, Mets 2 2
Jimmy Nelson, Brewers 1 1
Alex Wood, Dodgers 1 1

2017 has definatly been a year to remember. Stay tuned and find out who will win the MVP in the AL and NL, and feel free to send me your predictions in the coments below. I would love to hear them.

One thought on “Corey Kluber, Max Scherzer Win 2017 Cy Young Awards (Giuseppe)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s