Los Angeles Dodgers Win National League Champion Series, Advance to World Series (Giuseppe)

After a back and forth National League Championship that took seven games to be decided, the Los Angeles Dodgers will be advancing to the World Series against the Boston Red Sox while the Milwaukee Brewers fall short of winning their first pennant since 1982 and their first World Series title.

Game 1 kicked the series off with a bang with the Dodgers drawing first blood with a solo home run by Manny Machado, but Milwaukee struck back with a solo shot off of Clayton Kershaw by Brandon Woodruff (a relief pitcher) to tie it up. The Brewers would drive in four more runs in the fourth and with a 5-1 lead, the Brewers’ relief core (headed by Josh Hader) would put the Dodgers away until the 8th when Jeremy Jeffress would come in with a 6-1 lead. Jeffress would give up four runs in the eighth and the Dodgers would not be able to tie it up in the ninth. The Brewers would take game one and we were on to Game 2.

The Brewers would fall to the Dodgers in Game 2 following Justin Turner’s 2-run home run and Cody Bellinger’s RBI single (Bellinger had been 0-24 in postseason play up until the single). The Brewers would fall 4-3 despite home runs by Travis Shaw and Orlando Arcia. The series was tied and heading to LA.

The Brewers knocked the Dodgers around in Game 3 and won by a 4-0 score. Jhoulys Chacin was masterful on the mound and the Brewers offense came alive against rookie Walker Buehler while the Dodgers’ offense faltered. Orlando Arcia hit another home run in the victory over LA and the Brewers now had a 2-1 series lead, but not for long.

Game 4 turned out to be a 13 inning long marathon that left both teams and their fanbases exhausted. Both team’s pitchers pitched masterfully but at the end of the day there has to be a winner and in the bottom of the 13th, Cody Bellinger hit a walk-off single to give the Dodgers the series tie. The Dodgers won 2-1 and the series was now tied at two games apiece. The Dodgers would once again prevail in Game 5 behind a seven-inning masterpiece by Clayton Kershaw. Kershaw allowed one lonely run and struck out nine. The Brewers had no answer for the lefty and fell by the score of 5-2. The Dodgers now lead the series 3-2 going into Milwaukee.

The Brewers were not about to go down without a fight and in Game 6. The Brew Crew had a great game headed by Jesus Aguliar who knocked in three runs and went 3-4 with a pair of doubles. Milwaukee’s bullpen pitched 4 2/3 no-hit innings to shut down the Dodgers in the Brewers’ 7-2 victory. The Brewers had the best game of their series thus far and unfortunately, for the Brewers, it would not be enough to win the National League Pennant.

The Brewers would strike first in Game 7 when the slumping Christian Yelich hit a solo shot to bring the score to 1-0, but it would not be enough as Cody Bellinger would hit a 2-run blast after a Manny Machado bunt single on a 3-2 count (the first such hit since 2014). Yasiel Puig would later break the game wide open with a three-run home run to left center and the Brewers’ fate was sealed. The Dodgers won by a score of 5-1 and LA was going to the World Series for the second consecutive year.

The Dodgers will face the Boston Red Sox in the fall classic while the Brewers fall short of the pinnacle of the baseball world. Cody Bellinger would win the NLCS MVP Award as a result of his walk-off hit in Game 2 and his game-winning home run in Game 7.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s