Khris Davis Wins Edgar Martinez Designated Hitter of the Year Award (Giuseppe)

Oakland A’s star slugger Khris Davis is 2018’s Edgar Martinez Designated Hitter of the Year Award winner after a stellar offensive season spent almost exclusively at the DH position.

Davis hit .247/.328/.555 with 46 homers, 118 runs batted in, 93 runs scored and 25 doubles through 139 games as the Oakland Athletics’ Designated Hitter. Khrush additionally hit two home runs en route to leading the league with 48 dingers while playing 11 games in the outfield.

Ballots for the award are cast by club beat writers, broadcasters and American League public relations departments. All players with a minimum of 100 at-bats as a designated hitter are automatically nominated for the award.

Davis bested Red Sox slugger JD Martinez who (at the DH position) hit .297 with 27 home runs and 79 runs batted in over the course of 93 games as a DH. Martinez’ overall numbers were better than Davis’, but he played 57 games as an outfielder and Edgar Martinez Award voters required to only look at production from the DH position.

Davis was one of the key pieces in the Oakland A’s improbable playoff run this year that resulted in a Wild Card Game loss to the Yankees. Davis was the clear pick for the award this year and the voters got it right this time.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s